the great divide: city vs country (I)

Standard

We took the opportunity of a 4 day shutdown weekend releasing the G.O. from work obligations to escape our city apartment, drive 6 hours to at our house at Taylors Arm and do a little summer/pre-Christmas preparations. On the back of this sojourn I’m feeling the disparity of our dual life.

A taste of country life…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I mentioned on elladee_places, we also indulged in a browse through the Hub and Pub Markets at The Pub With No Beer.

the great divide: city vs country (II) – a taste of city life

Advertisements

About EllaDee's daleleelife101.blog

After a decade of living in tiny apartments in the inner-city of Sydney, Australia with my husband referred to in my posts as the Gorgeous One (G.O.) while I worked in corporate-legal and the G.O. in civil earthworks we relocated 500 kilometres north in December 2015 to our home in the Nambucca Valley to follow our dream of living simply and creatively. We travelled around Australia in 2016. Now we work on our 1930’s house, have a vegetable garden and a dog plus share a flock of backyard chickens with our neighbour. These days I’m a Horticulture student, something I dreamed of doing for many years. I write about day-to-day life, past & present, people & places, and take snapshots with my smart phone. Copyright 2011-2017. All content of http://daleleelife101.blog, https://elladeewords.wordpress.com/, https://elladeeimages.wordpress.com/ & https://elladeeplaces.wordpress.com/ is copyright. Apart from any use permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, no part may be reproduced by any process, nor may any other exclusive right be exercised, without the permission of the owner who can be contacted via email dln011 [at] yahoo [dot] com [dot] au.

9 responses »

    • A potkin, I think of as a type of squash but others consider it akin to the pumpkin it looks like and say it tastes like a mixture of squash and pumpkin. I think it tastes like squash, which I’m not a fan of.
      I settled in a little too well, a little too early last weekend, and would have happily given myself an early mark to the upcoming holidays.

      • 😀 to the settling in. Four days is a difficult one. I can get my head around a 24-hour there and back to the finca (ie Sat and Sun) but four days is just long enough to start enjoying yourself and want to stay longer. We’ll be hoping for a decent Christmas break 🙂

    • Thank you. It’s home… the G.O. comes from nearby, and I’ve adopted it as my own 🙂 One day we aim to live there… it will be very interesting to see what it’s like on a long term day to day basis, as compared to city living which has been my way of life for quite some time…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s