What’s the go Anna?

Standard

image

Resident neighbourhood goanna wandering through our backyard. Close up photo courtesy of the G.O.

Taylors Arm, NSW, Australia

About EllaDee's daleleelife101.blog

After a decade of living in tiny apartments in the inner-city of Sydney, Australia with my husband referred to in my posts as the Gorgeous One (G.O.) while I worked in corporate-legal and the G.O. in civil earthworks we relocated 500 kilometres north in December 2015 to our home in the Nambucca Valley to follow our dream of living simply and creatively. We travelled around Australia in 2016. Now we work on our 1930’s house, have a vegetable garden and a dog plus share a flock of backyard chickens with our neighbour. These days I’m a Horticulture student, something I dreamed of doing for many years. I write about day-to-day life, past & present, people & places, and take snapshots with my smart phone. Copyright 2011-2017. All content of http://daleleelife101.blog, https://elladeewords.wordpress.com/, https://elladeeimages.wordpress.com/ & https://elladeeplaces.wordpress.com/ is copyright. Apart from any use permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, no part may be reproduced by any process, nor may any other exclusive right be exercised, without the permission of the owner who can be contacted via email dln011 [at] yahoo [dot] com [dot] au.

8 responses »

  1. Wow, that looks enormous.
    How amazing to have something like that wandering around you garden, do they bite?

    The only lizard I saw on my visit to Oz was quite small in comparison, it was quite stumpy and oval in shape. I can’t remember what it was called, Stumpy rings a bell, but I’m guessing that was its nickname.
    Still enjoying your break then 🙂

    • Thnx. Still another week of holidays. Goanna’s will bite if threatened but more so they will climb the nearest thing… including people, and have very sharp claws.
      You may have seen a Blue Tongue or Stumpy Tail lizard.

  2. I can remember growing believing that old wives tale that if a goanna bit you the bit would come back every year. I don’t know that I have ever seen one. Great subject.

Leave a Reply

